You are here: Home / Figures / Key figures by municipality / Ixelles


Ixelles (6.3 km2, 3.9 % of the regional territory) is divided into two sections by avenue Louise and the Bois de la Cambre, which are part of the territory of the City of Brussels.

The largest section stretches from Porte de Namur, located on the boundary of the Pentagon, to Boondael at the far south of the municipality.

This part is delineated by the inner ring and the European quarter (City of Brussels) to the north, Etterbeek and Auderghem to the east (alongside the VUB campus), Watermael-Boitsfort to the south, and the main lanes Louise - F. Roosevelt with the ULB Solbosch campus to the west.

The triangular part in the west of the municipality is wedged between avenue Louise, chaussée de Charleroi, avenue Brugmann (Saint-Gilles and Forest), and rue Vanderkindere (Uccle).


Find out more

To find out more about Ixelles, make sure to:

  • Check out Ixelles in key figures (FR), a selection of indicators that paint a statistical picture of this municipality.
    Organised by theme and presented in the form of tables, you will find the most recent figures in one column and the figures on the situation as it stood five years earlier in the other column.

  • Read the socio-economic analysis of the municipality in Zoom sur Ixelles [An in-depth look at Ixelles].
    This publication collates and analyses the main demographic, socio-economic, well-being and health indicators for the population of the various Brussels municipalities over the 2005-2015 period.

  • Create your own interactive maps or tables via Monitoring des quartiers [Neighbourhood Monitoring] on the basis of more than 200 municipality-based indicators.