You are here: Home / Figures / Key figures by municipality / Bruxelles


The City of Brussels (32.6 km2, 20 % of the regional territory) is the largest municipality of the Brussels-Capital Region and comprises several sections, one very different from the next.

They are only partially adjacent and stretch from the centre to the north, the south and the east of the Region.

Centred in the medieval heart of the city, the City of Brussels gradually extended with each annexation.

The creation of Quartier Léopold in the 1840s marked the first important expansion of the municipality (eastward), this as a result of a major transfer of territory by the municipality of Saint-Josse-ten-Noode. Soon after, avenue Louise began to develop on land that previously formed part of Ixelles, and now runs all the way to the Bois de la Cambre (to the south).

In 1921, Laeken, Neder-over-Hembeek and Haren (to the north) were also annexed in implementation of the law providing for the expansion of the City of Brussels, this to facilitate the extension of the maritime facilities.

Find out more

To find out more about City of Brussels, make sure to:

  • Check out City of Brussels in key figures (FR), a selection of indicators that paint a statistical picture of this municipality.
    Organised by theme and presented in the form of tables, you will find the most recent figures in one column and the figures on the situation as it stood five years earlier in the other column.

  • Read the socio-economic analysis of the municipality in Zoom sur Ville de Bruxelles [An in-depth look at City of Brussels].
    This publication collates and analyses the main demographic, socio-economic, well-being and health indicators for the population of the various Brussels municipalities over the 2005-2015 period.

  • Create your own interactive maps or tables via Monitoring des quartiers [Neighbourhood Monitoring] on the basis of more than 200 municipality-based indicators.